Introduction

  • Roles define the access permissions of each user in your organization.
  • Roles are sets of permissions and configurations that determine how a user interacts with the platform, as well as the functionality a user can access.

You can create multiple roles. The administrator role is the highest level that can access and control each resource. You can assign more than one role to a user or a user group.

You can configure Roles at the Service Provider(SP), Partner, and Client levels respectively.

Prerequisite

  • Permission sets have been created and available.

Create a Role

Follow these steps to create a role:

  1. Click Setup > Account. The Account Details page is displayed.

  2. Click the Users and Permissions tile on the Account Details page. The Permission Sets page is displayed.

  3. Click the ROLES tile.

  4. Click +ADD. The ROLE DETAILS page is displayed.

  5. Enter the following information:

    • Role Name: Unique name of the role.
      If you are a partner user, then select the appropriate option from Role for and Access to.
    • Permission Sets: Select the permission set(s) from the list.
      Click Manage all permission sets to create a permission set.
      Note: The Client Administrator, Client Dashboard Share Permission Set, and Client User are the default permission sets.
    • Description: Provide details to describe the role.

  6. From Resources visibility, select one of the following three options to apply visibility of devices to the role you are creating:

    • All: Lets a role have the visibility of all resources in the client.
    • Specified resources: Lets a role have the visibility of only the selected resources in the client.
      • Select resource group(s) from the Resource groups dropdown.
      • Select resource(s) from the Resources dropdown. You can also click Advanced Search to build a query to search for the resources.
    • None: Prevents a role from having the visibility of the client resources.

  7. From Assign credentials, select one of the following three options to apply visibility of credentials to the role you are creating:

    • All: Lets a role have visibility of all credentials in the client.
    • Specified credentials: Lets a role have visibility of only the selected credentials in the client.
      • Select credential(s) from the list.
    • None: Prevents the role from having visibility of client credentials.

  8. From Classic Dashboards, select one or more dashboards from the list.

  9. Click ADD.

  10. The role is created and displayed in the ROLES listing page.



Users can perform the following actions based on the context:

Type of userCurrent contextUser action
Service Provider UserService Provider
  • Manage roles for service provider users.
  • Manage roles for partner users across current Service Provider's partners.
  • Manage roles for client users across all clients across all partners.
Partner UserPartner
  • Manage roles for partner users.
  • Manage roles for client users across current partner’s clients.
Partner UserClientManage roles for the current client.
Client UserClientManage roles for the current client.



You can perform the following actions after creating a role:

ActionProcedure/Description
SearchTo search for a role:
  • Click the search icon on the Roles listing page and then enter the role name in the search box.
  • The search result is displayed.
You can also search for roles using the dropdown filter available on the right side of the page. By default, all roles are listed.
ViewTo view a role:
  • Search for the role and click the role name to view the role details.
Edit

Note: You cannot edit a default role.
To edit a role:

  1. Search for the role and click the role name.
  2. Make the necessary changes.
    Alternatively, click the action menu (three dots) that appears when you move the mouse pointer anywhere in the row, and click View. Make the necessary changes.
  3. Click SAVE. The role is saved.
Remove

Note: You cannot remove a default role.
To remove a role:

  1. Search for the role.
  2. Click the action menu (three dots) that appears when you hover over the row
  3. Click Remove.
  4. From the confirmation dialog box, click REMOVE to delete the role.